run8kliz

Just another WordPress.com site

2012 Training Begins! January 26, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — liz8k @ 6:34 pm

As promised in my prior blog note, I DID run 2 miles on January 4th, however that’s been it until this week 😦

This week I started by running 2 miles in 23 minutes.  I took the two youngest over to my parents’ house to use their treadmill.  That worked pretty well after 10 minutes of trying to figure out how to start it!  I actually had done the correct think early on in the process, but for some reason it didn’t work – oh well.  I started at a 5mph pace and then sped up to 6mph the last half mile.  I felt pretty good about that.

Today I went over there again, but decided I’d try to maintain a 6mph pace.  I’ll be honest, that was mostly because Julie (my future sister-in-law) did 3 miles in 30 minutes the other day.  I don’t like being out-done (never mind she’s like 13 years younger than me)!  At the same time I know she’ll run the 8K faster than me, but for now the motivation is working 🙂  I finished 2 miles in under 20 minutes.  I was so ticked about having to be on the treadmill that the last 1/8 of a mile I sped it up to 7mph just so I could finish and get off of it quicker!  I made it though!  AND I’m still here to tell about it 😉

I have to look back at the blog from last year to see how much better I’m doing already, you can too if you’d like.  The “official” training schedule starts next week, but I hope to up some of the mileges or at least run them at a faster pace.

 

2 Responses to “2012 Training Begins!”

  1. Julie Says:

    Whatever motivates you, Elizabeth! I just want to say on March 25th that we both finished the race. That will be such a great accomplishment for anyone! 🙂 (I’ve only done 5ks before, so you have a leg up on me that way!)


Leave a comment